ELECTRIC SCOOTER LAWS IN CALIFORNIA
Note: Troxus does not guarantee the accuracy of the below information. Please check with your local government to get the most up-to-date information.
Electric scooter laws can be a little confusing. We often receive messages from Troxus riders asking what are the rules and laws when riding an e-scooter. In this blog, we will go over some of the most important electric scooter laws in California.
California has a speed limit of 15mph for electric scooters on public roads and bike lanes. If you have a scooter that goes beyond 15mph, you could be stopped and fined by the police. Current fines for scooters that go above 15mph are $250.
MINORS MUST WEAR A HELMET
According to California law, minors under the age of 18 must wear a bike helmet. The helmet must fit properly and has to be fastened. Riders above the age of 18 don’t have to wear a helmet. Although it is recommended that Troxus riders always wear a helmet when riding. The fine for minors not wearing a helmet is $200.
NO RIDING ON A SIDEWALK
Electric scooter riders aren’t allowed to ride on sidewalks. The only time riders are permitted on sidewalks is when they are parking. The for riders caught riding on a sidewalk is $200.
Scooter riders must use bike lanes whenever possible. This law refers to “Class 2 bicycle lane.” This type of lane is on the right side of a street and usually has a white solid line and a bicycle symbol.
However, there are currently four exceptions:
- When passing a vehicle or pedestrian,
- When completing a left-hand turn,
- Avoiding debris or other hazards in the bike lane,
- When turning right.
NO TANDEM RIDES
According to California law, it is illegal to ride with another person on the scooter, also referred to as a “tandem ride”. The penalty for riding with another rider is about $200.
E-SCOOTERS ARE LEGALLY CONSIDERED MOTOR VEHICLES
California recognizes an electric scooter as a motor vehicle. This means riders have the same rights and responsibilities as someone driving a car. Riders must follow the same traffic rules a motor vehicle does. It is illegal to drive an e-scooter if you have been drinking or using drugs. The penalty for this is $350.
DON’T RIDE ON A CROSSWALK
In California, it is illegal to ride an electric scooter on a crosswalk. It is recommended to dismount the scooter and walk across the crosswalk. Riders can be fined $200 for riding on a crosswalk.
Overall, riders should read and understand all the laws before riding their electric scooter. Riding can be dangerous; it is recommended to always wear a helmet and other safety gear. For those who live outside California, please make sure you double-check your local laws.
Check out our website to learn more about Troxus.
Take a look at more of our blog posts.